Bash Preview

October 1st, 2011 at 9:58 pm

Oops, sorry for the late post this week! To make up for it, hopefully this card is quite interesting. Anyway, without further ado, here it is:

OK, so Bash – sounds pretty simple, right? Well, there are a few complexities to this card that we should discuss.

The first thing to note is that this card has two text boxes and two sets of icons on it. The top set are the regular icons you see on any old attack card. Bash does 4 damage and has a range of 1 – not bad for a melee attack, but not fantastic by any measure.

What makes this card shine is that it also has a grey reaction rule box. The little sword icon in the lower left indicates that this is an Attack Boost reaction and the card symbol in the lower right indicates that you get to keep (put back in your hand) this card after it triggers. The rule text tells you more about what’s going on: “Add two damage to any other Bash you play”.

Wow – that’s not bad! So, if you have two Bash cards in your hand and play the first, the second Bash will trigger and boost it’s damage to 6. And you get to keep the triggered Bash card, meaning you can save it for next round and hope that you draw more. Or – do you want to play it out now and kill your opponent? Less damage right now or more damage later? A Bash card that sits in your hand for several rounds can end up adding a LOT of damage. On the other hand maybe you need those 4 points of damage right now? Those are the kind of decisions that these cards evoke.

A few more titbits:

  • You can have multiple cards trigger in reaction to an event. So, if you have three Bash cards in hand and play one the other two will both trigger and boost its damage to 8! Ugh knows what he’s talking about.
  • Playing any Attack card with Bash in the name will trigger this. So yes, Stunning Bash will get a boost too.

Finally, notice how this is a two tone card (the right hand side is a hot red). That’s a visual hint to you that the card has two functions – red for a regular attack and hot red for an attack boost. You don’t need to know that, but it’s a guide that can help you quickly recognise the card’s function without reading the text or icons.

8 Responses to “Bash Preview”

  1. Hm… Didn’t you guys say that you could have a maximum of two cards on your hand? I wonder how you’d go about to have three Bash cards ready.

  2. @Sian: you can only retain two cards in each character’s hand at the end of the round. However, you draw two more cards per round (plus a move card), so you can easily end up with many more than two in hand.

  3. what is the mechanic with the discard pile? Is it possible to run out of cards? Consequences for running out of cards? and is the discard pile the same as the played pile? Just thinking that I have a weapon I should be able to continue to use it (it doesn’t have a fixed amount of attacks) although it might wear out/break (perhaps it could/should/does have a limited amount of attacks).

    The cards I draw…. will I eventually see that super attack associated with my weapon? (finite cards and I move through the deck til I run out and reset the deck/other)….or do I always draw from a constant pool of possible/potential cards based on my equipment and so my chances of getting the super attack are based on probability? (I may get it twice in a row or I may never get it)

  4. When you run out of cards you re-shuffle your discard pile into your deck. It doesn’t tend to happen very often.

  5. so let me see If I got this right… you play any bash card, and any other of these cards on your hand triggers the bonus but not the attack itself, so you can have a single card which used to be able to do 4 damage and now does 6 and save it for later…

    that sounds good, now the question is.

    Are the bash cards which are triggered revealed to the enemy? I’m guessing yes, since they are actually being “used” in one of their two functions (as reaction cards) and also, that would allow the enemy to disarm you before you are able to use them, if they have the propper cards to prevent you from using this.

    Cool card in any case, I can’t wait to play this game!

  6. @Nicolas – yes, any triggered card is revealed.

  7. heh, all that text answered in 1.25 lines ๐Ÿ™‚

    er about running out of cards….can I send my characters into battle naked/unequiped? ๐Ÿ™‚

    by the sounds of earlier blogs I think I’d still have class abilities though and/or perks.

  8. Sorry, yes, I specialise in terse responses ๐Ÿ™‚

    Check this forum post for an answer to your other question:

Leave a Reply